Drugs/Alcohol

Google Image 30 days of Truth is about bringing out the best in yourself. Also, to let people see the “real” you through what you write. For thirty days I will write about myself, I will dig deep and I hope you can start this journey with me. 30 days of Truth; Are you ready!?

Before getting started on my prompt for today I am going to tell you guys that I am going to the Doctor this afternoon about my diet 🙂 I will post to all of you how much weight I have lost, and other things that have been going on. I am so excited. I haven’t weighed myself since the last time I went to the Doctor, which was the beginning of June.

Day 20 – Your views on drugs and alcohol

Drugs
I don’t know where to begin on this subject really.
I have friends who smoke weed and well yeah, they do it in their time, and I’m not around it. I don’t think “weed” is a bad thing. I, also, think if it grows freely than why are we making it illegal? If it helps people with pain, or whichever, why is it illegal? I know you can get addicted to the stuff, but you can get addicted to anything if you have an addictive personality.
Other drugs on the other hand, yeah, no! I don’t see why someone would want to hallucinate or want to “trip” out. I have never done drugs, so I don’t know what they do or how they “feel”. I think that people should be punished for their actions though, they need to learn self-control.

Alcohol
Don’t be stupid. Drink responsibility, don’t get addicted, and live the life you want. Have fun, drink with friends, but turn your keys in to a friend. Don’t drink and drive and I think 5 drinks is good enough, you can function (sometimes) but you don’t need to get totally “slugish”. Again, Self-Control people. Don’t be Stupid.
I know what alcohol can do to a person, since I was the one being “stupid”. I thought alcohol was my answer when my folks was going through the divorce, I waited for my mom to get back on her feet but I fell hard. I fell hard right into the direction I didn’t want to go, but I felt like a loner. I felt as though I didn’t matter to the world, but I found friends, who filled that void that I had at the time. I found friends who would drink with me to wash away my pain that ache hard in my heart.
At that point I loved alcohol. It was my numbing pleasure that I enjoyed. It drained out all the feelings and my thoughts that I would have as I sat alone in my bedroom with no one else at home. It gave me a sense of not caring what the world thought about me, and I could just drink and sleep, and eventually my world would just pass by and I will be someone, maybe.
I did drive with a hangover, and I regret it. I can’t turn back the clocks of what happened in my past, but I have learned from them. I don’t drink often anymore, and when I do go drinking I wont drive. I believe everyone makes mistakes, and eventually they will see their mistakes and learn from them just like I have.
Also, you can read on Addiction, another post I did awhile back.

Previous Days
Day 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

Related Articles
Day 20: Whew, only 10 more left (wheniride.wordpress.com)
Day 20: Drugs and Alcohol (ihasasad.wordpress.com)
30 Days of Truth (mairedubhtx.wordpress.com)
Truth Day 20 (therealladyinredink.wordpress.com)
Addictions (joellamorgan.wordpress.com)
Day 20 – 30 Days of Truth (jsh0608.wordpress.com)
30 Days of Truth… Drugs and Alcohol (siggiofmaine.wordpress.com)

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Thank you, Jenna, for reading my longer post on my blog and “liking” it…
    I hoped I made it easy to read…being so long winded.
    One thing about these daily posts that has happened is I am finding that I can definitely express my self easily on some subjects, and others, like politics and religion, I do not have the words to express my views and it is time to work on that. Thank you for the Challenges and a place to formulate some clear thinking on the part of myself, and I’m sure others.
    ☮ ♥. Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

    Reply
    • I loved reading it. It really shed some light in a direction I never looked before. Don’t worry about a post being long winded, if you are getting words onto a piece of paper you might as well say it how you feel 🙂 You are welcome for the challenges, and I am so glad to have all of you guys coming in and doing this with me. It is so fun to read and get others opinions. I love doing it, and i hope to continue doing it, some how or another.

      Like

  2. I disagree with your opinion on the effects of marijuana but I honor the way you spoke your truth. As a RN I have seen first hand the effects of drugs, including marijuana, long term on the body and the mind. The damage to the body and mind is irreparable to the user, and when a mother takes drugs while pregnant there is horrendous permanent damage to the fetus….seeing an infant detox has to be the most heart breaking moment in someone’s life.
    Seeing a person detox from prescription drugs is just as heart breaking as detoxing from illegal drugs. Addiction to prescription drugs is also a heart breaking event to the person, family and community.

    Alcohol is also a serious drug that causes damage to the body and the mind…and to the family and community.

    A shout out to my friend, Jennifer, who celebrates 18 years sobriety tomorrow, 7/21/2011.

    I realize that my views are “old fashioned” in many ways, especially on marijuana, but I feel that it is important to express these views. Thank you for allowing me the space to respectfully disagree on your views.

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

    Reply
    • I see how you can see the side effects, not only from being a nurse, but your friend. I take your words to heart. I have never been in “contact” of the drug to know “exactly” what they do. The only thing I can truly tell you is the effect of alcohol. Thanks for your words, and it shines a light on both topics 🙂

      Like

  3. I think pot is ok as a medical drug. But I’ve personally seen it tear a family apart. its a gateway drug. (eventually the high doesn’t come and those addicted keep looking for the next high. and get more and more into the addiction.) I Wish I could believe that pot could be just a recreational drug, but for so many people it can’t. *My opinion*

    Like

    Reply
    • I can understand that. I have a friend who spends a lot of money on it. They are addicted. So I can see that too, but again, it is self-control over it. A lot of people don’t know self-control, which is sad.

      Like

  4. Bravo for having the guts to say they should legalize marijuana. I don’t smoke, because frankly I feel ‘stupid’ enough most of the time, but I know many that do, and did myself when I was much younger. Granted, it’s not a very ‘motivating’ drug, but I don’t see the harm in it either. I haven’t met one person of the hundreds I’ve known that got stoked up, killed someone in their car, or went home and beat up their old ladies. Now alcohol…that’s a different story. It kills, creates chaos, destroys families, etc. Yet, this ‘drug’ is completely legal. Why? Well, because ‘prohibition’ created more problems than there were answers. The reason they don’t/won’t legalize Marijuana is because it’s a damn money-maker for our government. Every time someone gets ‘popped’ it’s money in the kitty for them. That’s what I think, I stand behind that statement, and as of yet no one has swayed me different. Maybe they should start treating the ‘real’ problem. I’m a drinker, I got popped for a DUI and should probably be one of those that rally for alcohol, but I’m still the first to admit it’s definitely the worse of what anyone considers the two evils.

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeap! I am right there with ya. I just tell it how I see it. I agree with ya.. I havent heard anyone doing anything stupid while on weed, other than eating, haha! Alcohol on the other hand, it does kill, and can destroy you bc you want that feeling you got the first time you put the drink to your lips.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Blog Warming Guests

    • 237,036 random views
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 467 other subscribers
  • Categories

  • Pages

  • bloglovin
  • Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Around The World

  • Follow We're Jumpin' on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages