Maybe; I’m a Little Weird

I was discussing with a friend the other day about cleaning my house. I wasn’t ask her to clean my house, we was just simply discussing it.

She thinks that I am so tired of cleaning bc I do everything when I clean.

Examples:

Kitchen – Wash the dishes, clean the counters, sweep & mop, take out the trash
Livingroom – Clean windows, wash off everything including entertainment center, and pick up (Also, have Jade help pick up her toys)
Hallway – Wash & dry clothes (even through all my other chores) & Vacuum
Jade’s room – I usually just let her clean her room. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you are big enough to make the mess, you are big enough to clean it up.
Bathrooms – Clean the tub/shower/toilet, sweep & mop
Master Bedroom – Fold clothes, make bed, vacuum, clean mirrors and windows.

I don’t clean like this everyday, but when I do start cleaning it ends up like this. I have to start in one part of the house and work my way out. I even get the broom to get in the cracks where the wall meets the carpet. When I do things I want it to be right. When I clean I want it to be clean, throughout.
But, I hate cleaning everyday, so maybe it is a little much, but heck someone has to do it.

So, Am I weird?? What is normal when cleaning your house, and trying to watch over your child. Making sure she isn’t doing anything she doesn’t need to be doing (like taking a black dry erase marker and writing on the couch with it).

I do have this hanging over my door, so people can read it when they leave.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. I can’t say I ever clean the whole house at once but I do straighten the entire main floor when I set my mind to cleaning up – at least to get all their toys in the right spots. Though I cannot tell you the last time I washed our windows.

    Reply
    • I wash windows and mirrors like 1x a month. Our little girl likes to smear her tongue on the glass, which i think she is finally out of that stage now. Today, I haven’t cleaned anything but did manage to do 2 loads of clothes. It is not everyday I clean, but I try to do anyway.

  2. Cleanliness is next to godliness, right? You’re okay in my book, young lady!

    Reply
  3. Tyler

     /  August 18, 2011

    Most of us just look around and wonder how to get all the mess clean in a matter of minutes. However, with such approach we often forget about the dirtiest places such as keyboards or bathtubs. Thatยดs why I think many people should take your attitude about cleaning a house as example.

    Reply
    • awwe. Thanks Tyler. My keyboard gets cleaned a lot more than my bathtub though, haha! Thank you for your words ๐Ÿ™‚ Totally made me smile.

  4. I can SOOO relate! I start every day cleaning the kitchen and work my way out of there! Our upstairs is all “entertaining” (kitchen, living room, dining room) and open… so I always start there and then move down to the bedrooms and areas downstairs. If it’s been too many days of not making it past the stairs, I’ll try and start downstairs first, but will find myself gravitating back to the kitchen!

    Reply
    • I can so relate. I try to stay focused on one room working right to left or left to right. (I really think my mom may have had something to do with this, because she cleans like this too) haha!

  5. I find cleaning a therapeutic retreat. But I have to be in the mood to do it. Living in an empty nest, the only mess is usually from me. I have lightened up on my ‘clean house standard’ since the kids left home. (Too bad they had to suffer through my cleaning mania).

    By the way, my cleaning mania has transferred to our elementary classroom. I am probably creating a whole new generation of manic house cleaners. I think that is a good thing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. What is normal is what you feel like doing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • True, just sometimes I feel like I take on too much. Thinking about making a schedule and doing 1 room for everyday. And of course doing the everyday stuff (dishes, clothes, trash). I can’t stand having a heap of dirty clothes haha!

  7. I am a clean freak…I clean like you. Everyone else is messed up, not us ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. We own a cleaning business. I hate cleaning. Don’t you think God has a good sense of humor? I do. From all my years of cleaning up other peoples homes and teaching other folks to clean I can offer a few tips for not becoming overwhelmed.

    I know you like it to all be done in one swoop, but if you spiff most of the rooms (that means polish pick up garbage or anything screaming YUCK at you) and focus on ONE room or chore (like laundry) it won’t be so hard on you and you can feel “done” but not be DEAD.

    I don’t know your brain may not go there, but it would be worth a try. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • I have even thought about cleaning peoples house for some extra dough in my pocket, but as you said “I hate cleaning”, so that usually talks me out of doing it. God does have a sense of humor and I am glad I am not the only one who sees it haha!

      I usually start in one room and work myself around the house. Like I will start in the bathroom, then the bedroom.. I even start in one corner and work myself around. My husband actually comes home and says, “why do you always start in the bathroom/bedroom?” bc he can see when he gets to the hallway that I haven’t made it further than that.

  9. I tidy up after myself, but I do very little cleaning since I felt on the edge of a breakdown right after my post-maternity leave return to the office. I knew something had to go, and assigned that to Ba.D. as his duty since almost everything else falls on my shoulders. He’s faithfully not kept up on that, but knowing that’s his fault instead of mine is quite the load off my shoulders!

    I really do mean to hire someone to come in twice a month. Somehow, I keep forgetting about that until I’m just on the verge of sleep . . .

    Reply
    • I tidy up after myself too, and even have Jade clean up after herself. If I get something out I usually put it back where I got it. My husband on the other hand don’t do this, haha! It got so bad one time that I would put all the things that was his in his chair, in a plastic bag ๐Ÿ™‚ He didn’t like that too much lol!

      I also think about things when I am almost asleep! That’s when I usually get blog ideas, but then by morning totally forget. I really need a notebook beside my bed, might even do that tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I get crazy when I start cleaning too. It starts with washing the dishes. Then I figure, it’s silly to wash the dishes and not clean the stove (and wipe down counters). Which leads to the oven. Then I get curious about the fridge. Before I know it, I’m cleaning the cupboards and mopping my way into the bedroom (I’m in a tiny apartment). Once I get in there, it’s onnn.
    Matter of fact, half the time I get in the shower, I end up cleaning it before I actually shower. It’s easier to clean when you’re in there. LOL.

    Reply
    • ROFL!! I even clean the shower while in it, using the wash cloth that I already used then throw it in the dirty clothes haha! When washing dishes, I wash the counters, which lead to the stove haha! >.> This happens like almost everyday, and eventually I crash on the couch with not wanting to do more lol!

  11. I score rather poorly in the cleaning Olympics but I am truely impressed with your thoroughness

    Reply
    • Thanks. Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I score really low too and sometimes don’t even make it into try-outs for Olympics ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. laci512

     /  August 17, 2011

    Oh, you’re not wierd! For me it starts out as a small goal. One thing leads to another then quickly turns into cleaning the room from top to bottom! Maybe start off by vacuuming then I notice that the windows need to be cleaned (thank you kids who like to put finger prints on windows and dogs who like to leave nose prints on windows) then dusting then cleaning fans and vents then what the heck go ahead and shampoo the carpet…

    Reply
    • -rofl- I have these kind of days too!! “go ahead and shampoo the carpet” Too Funny!! I’ve definitely been there!

    • I am the same way, except not the shampoo the carpet but get the broom and sweep down the spider webs that have appeared since last week, lol! Good to know Im not crazy, it just can be overwhelming at times.

  13. I do the kitchen cleaning and the general pick up of the house every day…I only clean everything else and do laundry once a week (some things every other week: gasp!) But then again…there are only two of us, we both work full time (hey wait-how come I work longer hours and still do all the housework and cooking–remind me to look into that!!) and we’ve no kids.

    Reply
    • haha! Maybe it is time to divide them ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Here lately, even though I am a stay at home mom, hubby has been cooking, and washing dishes, because I have everything else to do, plus work outside. Maybe I need to start doing a calendar and writing down what days to do what so I don’t feel overwhelmed.

  14. When I clean, it is just the necessities. Like the living room because if someone comes over that is what they will see first. Then I clean the kitchen because well, it is apart of the living room. Finally I clean the bathroom just in-case they have to potty while visiting. Only on the weekends, when I am not busy, I will clean thoroughly, toilets, mopping, dusting, etc. Pfft…okay so I lied about the dusting. I dust maybe once every 6 months. Really!! It’s just a little dust, it will be back in an hour. -lol- I guess it is like that saying, “What ever floats your boat.”

    Reply
    • ROFL @ floats your boat. I can’t stand dust though. The more there is, the more I sneeze, but yet when I dust, the more I sneeze.. its a no win situation, haha! But I will have to keep this in mind. I try to keep my house clean, but some days I just want to watch tv or something. xoxo

  15. Superwoman! thats what you are ๐Ÿ™‚

    I used to think I can do the stuff you mentioned above, but when I had to terminate my maid cuz she didnt do good enuf job, I have yet to find out myself keep finding so many excuses to procrastinate on cleaning. Nowadays, I appreciate my maid better, thou I’ll still fire her if she no good ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
    • haha!! Sometimes when people get paid for it they just rush through and don’t do a good job. Wish I could get a maid, might be better ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe one day ๐Ÿ˜›

  16. Are you kidding? That isn’t weird at all. The people who don’t clean are the weird ones in my book. I can’t tell you how many SAHDs (Moms too!) who just don’t make time to clean and their houses are disasters! Urgh…I don’t know how they live with it. My day is cluttered and chaotic enough without a dirty house! So, keep on cleaning, chica! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Gosh, I feel so much better! lool! I don’t clean everyday because there is so much to do. Like when hubby is home there is no cleaning really. The dishes will get done, and the trash will be out, but no deep cleaning, due to the fact I want to spend time with him. I try to also teach my daughter some things in between cleaning, but it usually takes me about 6 hours to clean.
      How can someone go without ever cleaning their house, and have kids? I would feel lost!

  1. Vest Acu | Carbzine Paintball
  2. Clean sweep « Minkyweasel World
  3. Full House Spring Clean | 4 Real Cheap

Leave a Reply

