Sadness Fills the Air

I think about my cousin so much. More than most people think I do. We went to school together, he would always greet me in the halls at school. I was his cousin and he would joke around all the time and call me “Brat” but you know, I always smiled and laughed when he did, it was something we could treasure forever.
We were in the band together. Most of the times he would even drive me home after band practice. I remember seeing him when we gathered for Mother’s Day. The memories will always be with me, the football we played in the yard, the hide-go-seek we seemed to play at my Great Grandmothers. He was always around me when we was growing up, I will never forget his laugh, his smile, or the way he cared for others.
I always knew he would be there if I needed him, and he knew the same about me. We would always find each other and would never walk away without laughing.
Even when he played football I would wear his jersey on Fridays. People would make fun of us, but I was always close to him, and for me to wear his jersey meant more than just “showing school spirit”, to me it was about making memories, and to show him that he didn’t just have to have a girlfriend to wear his jersey. It made me feel so good to see him smile and laugh with his arm around my neck.

2 years ago today, he passed away. We don’t really know the “whole” story. As no one “seen” what happened but his girlfriend at the time.

I do know on this day I will think about his brother, Mom, and Dad. I hope God continues to comfort them, and give them peace.

May the memories never die with him, but be forever remembered.

 

I love you Kent.. always!
Your Brat,
Jenna

Previous Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Condolences to you and to his family… It is never easy… sorry to read this and sending you virtual hugs.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the hugs and condolences ๐Ÿ™‚ It is never easy, but having such wonderful memories does help bear the weight.

  2. Awww, so sorry to read of this Jenna…. Keepin ya in my thoughts love. beautiful post in his honor. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. This is such a sweet post. It’s great when we have memories that make us laugh/smile.

    Reply
  4. A sweet tribute to your cousin. Having lost a cousin and a brother, I can understand some of what you say, although every one’s experience of death and loss is unique in some way. You have wonderful memories. May they continue to comfort you. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. laci512

     /  September 1, 2011

    I hope that you and your family are able to find comfort during these difficult days. What a very sweet post. I’m glad that you have some great memories of your cousin.

    Reply
  6. Cousins are an incredible gift, a treasure; they love fiercely, unconditionally. I see your heart is griefshot as well THIS day. Looking forward to getting to know you more.

    Holding you in myHeart,
    StephieDee

    Reply
  7. I lost my cousin a few years ago as well…some things never leave us. Hugs

    Reply
  8. Oh, dear, what a difficult thing for you to bear…but you are not alone and whenever you want to talk about him, it is ok…..those of us who’ve been there know there is no time limit for grief and sharing.
    Hoping memories like you shared of happier times will bring comfort to your heart and soul.
    Keeping you in my prayers
    โ˜ฎ โ™ฅ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Reply
  9. Hi jenna, it pains me to hear about your loss. You know, I pray everyday that God wouldn’t take any of my loved ones yet coz i’m not ready for it, i guess i would never will.
    I know that your cuz is with Him in heaven now and he sure doesn’t want us to feel sad. But remembering him will surely make him happy, I’m glad that you remembered happy thoughts about him instead of dwelling on the fact that he is gone. I believe that he isn’t really gone, he just went ahead of us to rest from this very tiring and stressful world. We would surely meet him again in heaven.God bless you and you family.

    Reply
  10. my heart goes out to your family’s loss.

    Reply
  11. My father went to the LORD on Nov. 17, 2008. But, until now, I can’t hardly look at the hospital where he died. He was a great father, a good pastor to the church… If I can just bring the time back, I would tell him all the things I’ve never told him. I’m sure your cousin is very happy with what you wrote here. Tnx for sharing!

    Reply
  12. I lost a cousin this year and we don’t know how either…may your heart be filled with memories to help ease the pain. my heart goes out to you and your family.

    Reply
    • Well, we know how, just doesn’t make sense. Thank you though. I am sure you can relate in a lot of ways ๐Ÿ™‚ My heart goes back to yours. I hope you find comfort, and peace with your recent loss. I have found some comfort and peace, but it is still hard some days. I usually don’t talk about it much.

  13. What a sweet post. I’m sure that wherever he is, your cousin is smiling at the memories… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Warming Guests

    • 215,674 random views
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 363 other followers

  • Categories

  • Pages

  • Product Ingredient Spotlight with #poshwithjenna 
Fauxpology Snarky Bath Bar

#Bergamot essential oil has #antibacterial, #deodorizing, #refreshing, #soothing, and #uplifting properties which make it excellent for #body #skincare preparations, for ensuring healthy and vital skin. Bergamot essential oil has a fresh, citrus and slightly spicy aroma and is powerfully refreshing, uplifting and invigorating and helps maintain a balanced #mood. 
Refresh, smooth, and deodorize your skin with Fauxpolohy Snarky Bar: 
https://JennaBearden.po.sh/fauxpology-snarky-bar
  • bloglovin
  • Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Around The World

  • Follow We're Jumpin' on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

