One Simple Act of Encouragement

A little encouragement goes a long way.
When my mom was going through a divorce she also lost her mom. I never really explained what happened to me during the time of grief my mom was going through.

I often prayed that she would feel better for herself, and realize no one deserves to be cheated on, left abandoned in their own home and for her ex-husband to show no love for the mother-in-law that treated him like her own son.

My mom went through so much in such a little time. I remember having to wake up at 6am to get her out of bed. I would stand beside her bed, pulling her arm, and telling her she has to get up, so she will have her job. I remember being encouraging through the most difficult time of her life, but I knew once I got her going she will be alright. I just had to get her going; one step at a time.

She eventually found herself and a guy that treated her decent (at the time). During this time she didn’t come home as often but I didn’t tell anyone. I often laid in the bed wondering when she would come home. I was happy that she was okay, but during all that time I was being strong for her, but now I was losing myself.

I was having to get up early, go to high school, and college, often finding rides with my best friend, maintaining on the honor roll, and showing I can graduate through all circumstances. However, on the weekends I was depending on alcohol to ease my woes, and frustrations.

My mom was barely coming home, my friends were working or talking about other stuff while I worried about gas in my car and the power being turned off, or where the next meal would come from. On weekends I often spend time with my friends knowing I would eat.
Now don’t get me wrong I wasn’t starving, I ate at school, and my best friend Justin often came to get to me to take me out to eat. He knew what was going on, but we often didn’t speak of it. He made me laugh as much as he could, which was a lot.

I had friends tell me I was heading down the wrong path, but I knew this. I didn’t want them to be my parent. I wanted them to encourage me, how to help me, or etc.

I eventually would lay on my bed in the mornings praying for my morning hangover to ease, and pray for God to just send me someone to help me. Someone who would help me stop drinking, someone to show me they cared instead of talking down at me, like I didn’t know what was wrong.

Within two weeks God places my husband in my life. His exact words was “If were going to be together, the drinking will stop.”
I knew then God listened to me, and opened my eyes that He can put people in your life for a reason.

One Simple Act of Encouragement can go a long way. Just remember next time you are down to never give up on something good happening in your life.

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Thank you for your kind words. Please feel free to offer up advice and share stories whenever you like. I quite enjoy that!

    Reply
  2. Just Rambling

     /  April 30, 2012

    I love how honest you are. It’s huge. It’s a testimony. Thanks!

    Reply
    • You’re welcome! Being honest is the best! Nice to hear from ya Ruth. Hope you are doing well 🙂

    • Just Rambling

       /  May 1, 2012

      I am, thank you! Glad you’re still writing and enjoying the whole blogging thing! 😀
      I easily lose track, get wrapped up and all that. Also, I have never been good at keep in touching and all that… *sigh*
      Hence, the silence…

    • Hey, don’t feel bad. I took a vacation too.
      I guess life gets the best of us sometimes. I am just now starting to get back into the flow of things. But it is great to hear from you! Did you ever get a bike?

    • Just Rambling

       /  May 2, 2012

      Haha I totally did! I got it in December and it’s the cutest bike I’ve ever owned! And since I’m really happy with this one I hardly ever leave it somewhere. They can’t steal this one from me! 😀

    • LOL! That’s awesome! Do you have pics of it? I guess I need to hop on over to your blog.. See I am slowly getting back into the blogging thing.. lool

    • Just Rambling

       /  May 3, 2012

      Haha, don’t worry about it! 😉
      I have a picture of it on my blog, because of course I dedicated at least ONE blog post to my bike! 😉
      Anyway, the picture isn’t as good as I wanted it to be… but here’s the link: http://reflectionsfromadutchgirl.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/i-am-happy-with-my-bike/

  3. What a hard time in your life! I’m so glad that through it, you found strength in God and in yourself!
    Thank you for sharing–not everyone would. Like you said, everyone needs someone to encourage them. Not someone to simply take care of them.
    You were very wise to recognize your true need–especially as young as you were, she said sounding like she’s 150 years old. LOL.
    How is your mom doing? Sounds to me as if she hadn’t learned the lesson you found.

    Reply
    • I still have bad days because it is something that you just can’t “forget”. I love sharing my battles and how I fought, not many people would talk about it, but I rather someone read my story and find a way to help them.
      Mom is doing better, it took her time too. she is still learning how to trust people again, but she is much stronger now a days.
      Thank you for leaving such a wonderful comment. I had to learn a valuable lesson that most people don’t learn till they are older.

  4. Interesting how divorce often accompanies a death or illness in the family. Same with mine. My mom got divorced as she found out her mom was dying and as my grandmother did die…I got divorced. Wonder what’s up with that?

    Reply
    • I don’t know but it’s not something that should happen so close together. A divorce already feels like that person has died to you, I wouldn’t want to wish that on anyone.

  1. Laying Bare My Sorrows | Ocdbloggergirl's Blog: OCD, Life, and Other Misunderstandings

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Warming Guests

    • 217,811 random views
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 363 other followers

  • Categories

  • Pages

  • My favorite face wash is on sale!!! Y’all, this face wash is amazing. It doesn’t dry my skin out, I can use it daily, it takes the dry skin off, and the smells is perfect. If you love mint then this will be another check mark on why you need it. Hurry before they are gone... https://JennaBearden.po.sh
#poshwithjenna #bestfaceforever
  • bloglovin
  • Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Around The World

  • Follow We're Jumpin' on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

