Grinding Teeth

For a week straight I was grinding my teeth at night. I was grinding hard enough that it would wake me from sleep, chipping a tooth, or causing my gums to be sore. I would often wake up and run my tongue over my teeth to make sure they were there and have to rub my gums with the pad of my finger. Even when I was pregnant with Jade I would have to wear a mouth guard. Grinding my teeth doesn’t happen everyday, but it use to happen often.

After doing research I figured out that chewing gum during the day was causing me to do this. Who knew, right?

Chewing gum is one of the worst things to do. It puts extra strain on only one side of your jaw. So, be sure to chew on both sides, even with food. This provides balance to your jaw muscles.

I stopped chewing gum and haven’t woke up grinding my teeth in over a month!

Google Image

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award 🙂 http://xanaxorrunningshoes.com/2012/06/01/sending-out-the-sunshine/

    Reply
  2. I didn’t know gum chewing caused that!!! Muy interesante.

    Reply
    • I didn’t either :/ I have been grinding my teeth for the past 5 years and just figured out it was gum chewing and it only happened when I chewed gum (which I rarely do) Since I didn’t chew gum often it only happened at random times. So weird, I know lol

  3. Glad yours was a simple fix! I ended up splitting a molar in half and had to not only get a crown but wear a rubber mouthpiece at night to protect my teeth. It all started after I fell and busted my mouth and some of my front teeth. dang it.

    Reply
    • Oh no! That sounds painful. My cousin said that stress can be a cause too. I am glad I figured it out. I know how much pain it causes and from your experience how much damage it can cause. I hope you have found some sort of comfort though. Are you still grinding your teeth now?

  1. One year onwards | Singing over the bones & rising from the ashes
  2. Your Questions About Bruxism Headaches | Cure For Bruxism (Teeth Griding)

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Warming Guests

    • 216,168 random views
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 363 other followers

  • Categories

  • Pages

  • #truestory #ac #hotcar #giggles #poshwithjenna #fridayfunny #georgia #napsarebad #sahm
  • bloglovin
  • Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Around The World

  • Follow We're Jumpin' on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

