Day 10 – The Heart of Worship

As most of you know I am doing the Purpose Driven Life. I really like it a lot, it gives me time to study. Romans 12:1-2 have been popping up a lot more, and when you get a revelation about something it seems to come up all at the right times. So, any way back to my Bible Study, and I hope you are enjoying it too.. if not please continue to wait on my basics of life, haha

Romans 6:13
And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God.

The heart of worship is surrender. Surrender is unpopular word, disliked almost as much as the word submission. If you constantly want to win, surrendering is unthinkable. But we must surrender to God as a heart of worship.

1 John 4:9-10
In this the love of God was manifested toward us, that God has sent His only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through Him. In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.
1 John 4:19
We love Him because He first loved us.

Paul urges us to fully surrender our lives to God in worship

Romans 12:1
I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.

True worship – bringing God pleasure – happens when you give yourself completely. Offering yourself to God is what worship is all about. Three barriers that block our total surrender to God is Fear, Pride and Confusion

Can I Trust God?

Trust is an ingredient to surrender. You wont surrender to God unless you trust him. Fear keeps us from surrendering, but love casts out all fear.

Psalm 145:9
The Lord is good to all, And His tender mercies are over all His works.
Psalm 139:3
You comprehend my path and my lying down, And are acquainted with all my ways.
Matthew 10:30
But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.
1 Timothy 6:17
Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy.
Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.
Psalm 86:5
For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive, And abundant in mercy to all those who call upon You.
Psalm 145:8
The Lord is gracious and full of compassion, Slow to anger and great in mercy.
Romans 5:8
But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Once you completely surrender to Jesus, we discover that he is not tyrant, but a savior; not a boss, but a brother; not a dictator, but a friend.

Admitting Our Limitations

A second barrier to total surrender is our pride.

Genesis 3:5
For God knows that in the day you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.

That desire – to have complete control – is the cause of so much stress in our lives. Life is a struggle, but what most people don’t realize is that our struggle, like Jacob’s, is really a struggle with God!
We are human. When we try to be God that is when we end up most like Satan, who desired the same thing.

What It Means To Surrender

Surrendering to God is not passive resignation, fatalism, or an excuse for laziness. It means sacrificing your life or suffering in order to change what needs to be changed. Do not repress your personality, or become a robot, God would not waste the mind He gave you.

Luke 5:5
But Simon answered and said to Him, “Master, we have toiled all night and caught nothing; nevertheless at Your word I will let down the net.”

You know you’re surrendered to God when you rely on God to work things out. You let go and let God work.

Psalm 37:7
Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him; Do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, Because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass.

Instead of trying harder, you trust more.

Matthew 6:24
“No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and Mammon.”
Matthew 6:21
For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.
Mark 14:36
And He said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Take this cup away from Me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.”

The Blessing of Surrender

First, you experience peace.

Job 22:21
“Now acquaint yourself with Him, and be at peace; Thereby good will come to you.”
Romans 6:17 (msg)
But thank God you’ve started listening to a new master
Joshua 5:13-15
And it came to pass, when Joshua was by Jericho, that he lifted his eyes and looked, and behold, a Man stood opposite him with His sword drawn in His hand. And Joshua went to Him and said to Him, “Are You for us or for our adversaries?” 14 So He said, “No, but as Commander of the army of the Lord I have now come.” And Joshua fell on his face to the earth and worshiped, and said to Him, “What does my Lord say to His servant?” 15 Then the Commander of the Lord’s army said to Joshua, “Take your sandal off your foot, for the place where you stand is holy.” And Joshua did so.

Victory comes through surrender

Luke 1:38
Then Mary said, “Behold the maidservant of the Lord! Let it be to me according to your word.” And the angel departed from her.
James 4:7
Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you.

The Best Way To Live

Everybody eventually surrenders to something/someone. If not to God, you will surrender to the opinions or expectations of others, to money, to resentment, to fear, or to your own pride, lusts, or ego. You were designed to worship God.
All other approaches lead to frustrations, disappointments, and self-destruction. Surrendering your life is not a foolish emotional impulse but a rational, intelligent act, the most responsible and sensible thing you can do with your life.

Romans 12:1
I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service.
2 Corinthians 5:9
Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him.
Philippians 4:13
 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
1 Corinthians 15:31
I affirm, by the boasting in you which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die daily.

You may have re-surrender your life fifty times a day. You must make it a daily habit.

Luke 9:23
Then He said to them all, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.”

Point to Ponder: The heart of worship is surrender.
Verse to Remember: Romans 6:13 – And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin, but present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead, and your members as instruments of righteousness to God.
Question to Consider: What area of my life am I holding back from God?

Control, I don’t have a lot of control, but I do like having the little control I do have. I need to let go of my self-control.
Insecurities, I have never felt completely beautiful, but as I look back I wish I would have let go in high school. So what if I don’t tan, so what if my legs are the shade of paper… Why do I care what people think? Why don’t I let things get to me? Even now. I hate wearing tanks, because I am afraid my stretch marks will be seen. LET IT GO
Emotions, I tend to hold things in. I only open up to a few people (which I am getting better, but still), people I feel as though I can trust. I let my emotions get the best of me. When I finally cave, I usually open a can of worms and say things I don’t mean.
Trusting, Trusting in God. Not turning toward His help.

Day 1 – It’s Not About Me
Day 2 – You are Not An Accident
Day 3 – What Drives Your Life
Day 4 – Made to Last Forever
Day 5 – Life from God’s View
Day 6 – Life is a Temporary Assignment
Day 7 – The Reason for Everything
Day 8 – Planned For God’s Pleasure
Day 9 – What Makes God Smile

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Just Rambling

     /  June 16, 2012

    I think the surrendering is really hard! Somehow you pray and you surrender things to God, and then when you’re done praying, you pick up your stuff again and walk away. I don’t want it to be like that. When God asks me to surrender, I want to learn how to surrender.
    Anyway, the purpose driven life sounds really good!

    Reply
    • Surrendering is really hard. I am learning, or trying to. Rick Warren is the author. My posts does it no justice, the book is amazing. I would suggest it 😀

  1. Day 16 – What Matters Most « We're Jumpin
  2. Day 15 – Formed for God’s Family « We're Jumpin
  3. Day 14 – When God seems Distant « We're Jumpin
  4. Day 13 – Worship That Pleases God « We're Jumpin
  5. Day 12 – Developing Your Friendship with God « We're Jumpin
  6. Day 11 – Becoming Best Friends with God « We're Jumpin

Leave a Reply

