Day 16 – What Matters Most

1 Corinthians 13:3 (msg)
If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.
2 John 1:6
This is love, that we walk according to His commandments. This is the commandment, that as you have heard from the beginning, you should walk in it.

Life is about love.
Because God is love, the most important lesson he wants you to learn on earth is how to love. It is in loving that we are most like him, so love is the foundation of every command given us.

Galatians 5:14
For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

Learning to love unselfishly – is not an easy task. It runs counter to our self-centered nature. That’s way we’ve given a lifetime to learn it. Of course, God wants us to love everyone, but he is particularity concerned that we learn to love others in his family.

1 Peter 2:17
Honor all people. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.
Galatians 6:10
Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.

God wants his family to be known for its love more than anything else. Jesus said our love for each other, not doctrinal beliefs, is our greatest witness to the world.

John 13:35
By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.

In heaven we will enjoy God’s family forever, but first we have some tough work to do here on earth to prepare ourselves for an eternity of loving. Love can not be learned in isolation. You hate to be around people, irritating, imperfect,, frustrating people. Through fellowship we learn these important truths.

The Best Use of Life is Love

Love should be your top priority, primary objective, and greatest ambition. Love i snot a good part of your life; it is the most important part.

1 Corinthians 14:1
Pursue love, and desire spiritual gifts, but especially that you may prophesy.

Life without love is really worthless

1 Corinthians 13:3 (msg)
If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

Four of the Ten Commandments deal with our relationship to God while the other six deal with our relationship with people. But all Ten are about relationships! Jesus summarized what matters most to God in two sentences: love God and love people.

Matthew 22:37-40
Jesus said to him, “‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and great commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 On these two commandments hang all the Law and the Prophets.”

Love will last forever

1 Corinthians 13:13
And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

How you treated other people, not your wealth or accomplishments, is the most enduring impact you can leave on earth.
When life on earth is ending, people don’t surround themselves with objects. What we want around us is people, people we love and have relationships with. Don’t wait until you’re on your death-bed to figure that out that nothing matters more.

We will evaluated on our love

One of the ways God measures spiritual maturity is the quality of your relationships.

Matthew 25:34-46
Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: 35 for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; 36 I wasnaked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’ 37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? 39 Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ 40 And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’ 41 “Then He will also say to those on the left hand, ‘Depart from Me, you cursed, into the everlasting fire prepared for the devil and his angels: 42 for I was hungry and you gave Me no food; I was thirsty and you gave Me no drink; 43 I was a stranger and you did not take Me in, naked and you did not clothe Me, sick and in prison and you did not visit Me.’ 44 “Then they also will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to You?’ 45 Then He will answer them, saying, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to Me.’ 46 And these will go away into everlasting punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”
Galatians 5:6
For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision avails anything, but faith working through love.

The Best Expression of Love Is Time

1 John 3:18
My little children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth.
Ephesians 5:2
And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.

You can give without loving, but you cannot love without giving.

John 3:16
For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

Love means giving up, yielding my preferences, comfort, goals, security, money, energy, or time for the benefit of someone else.

The Best Time To Love Is Now

Galathians 6:10
Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.
Ephesians 5:16
redeeming the time, because the days are evil.
Proverbs 3:27
Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, When it is in the power of your hand to do so.

Why is now the best time to express love? Because you don’t know how long you will have to opportunity. Circumstances change. People die. Children grow up. You have no guarantee of tomorrow. If you want to express love, you had better do it now.
The best use of life is love. The best expression of love is time. The best time to love is now.

Point to Ponder: Life is all about love
Verse to Remember: Galatians 5:14 – For all the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”
Question to Consider: Honestly, are relationships my first priority? How can I ensure that they are?

I can honestly say yes! I put a lot of people before myself. I rather make someone else happy. I try to call my friends everyday, just to check on them, but I guess I need to do this a lot more for my other friends. I need to make time for others, I need to stop, or learn how to stop being isolated in my own home. I am getting there though. Once I love someone, as a friend or family I care about them, I will tell them that over and over. I want them to know I love them, I want to make time just for them.

 

Day 1 – It’s Not About Me
Day 2 – You are Not An Accident
Day 3 – What Drives Your Life
Day 4 – Made to Last Forever
Day 5 – Life from God’s View
Day 6 – Life is a Temporary Assignment
Day 7 – The Reason for Everything
Day 8 – Planned For God’s Pleasure
Day 9 – What Makes God Smile
Day 10 – The Heart of Worship
Day 11 – Becoming Best Friends with God
Day 12 – Developing Your Friendship with God
Day 13 – Worship That Pleases God
Day 14 – When God Seems Distant

Day 15 – Formed for God’s Family

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Awesome post on love! We often think being a follow of Jesus is knowing the right things. We think we live a God honoring life if we just share the right things. We share the truth, but forget about the love. Love shows that the God of love we profess is indeed true. Great post!

    Reply
  1. VERSES TO PONDER (ALL ABOUT LOVE) « ALTHEYRIGHT'S COLLECTION OF SIMPLE THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Warming Guests

    • 217,171 random views
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 363 other followers

  • Categories

  • Pages

  • So when your stuck in traffic what do you do to past time? Thank goodness I had a hand creme 😆 I got to feel my hands endlessly as the kids argued on who got to play with the @leapfrogofficial 
Don’t forget to use the THANKFUL code at checkout to get $5 off! 
If you have a birthday in November get your 500 Perks! 
#poshwithjenna #traffic #georgia #kids #leapfrog
  • bloglovin
  • Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Around The World

  • Follow We're Jumpin' on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

