Our Adventure This Week

Jade3

They admitted my daughter into the hospital on Monday.
Jade had been sick for 3 weeks. It started with a head cold, then moved into walking pneumonia. Since Walking Pneumonia is not contagious I sent her to school, at this point she wasn’t running a fever with being sick, but she was on breathing treatments, antibiotics and other medicine to get her well.
On Friday Morning, I got up (our usual routine), and was getting her clothes together for school, getting myself dressed. I ran out to crank the car so it would be warm and came back in to wake my sleeping my daughter. She woke up and came into the living room, her face was so red! I knew then that she was getting worse and not better. I could her temperature and it was 102.7
I called her Doctor and made an appointment, then took her to the kitchen to give her Ibuprofen and Tylenol to get her temp down. Needless to say she threw up half of the medicine, and the throwing up didn’t stop, but it wasn’t continuous it just happened every so often. This continued into Saturday, I finally called the Doctor on Saturday morning to get something to get her to quit being so nauseated. Her temp at this point was on clock work, every 5 hours and 30minutes it would start-up, reaching 102 within 30minutes. You couldn’t tell she was sick though, until the fever hit. She would grab her blanket and lay on the couch. The throwing up stopped with the help of Zofran, but the fevers never went away.
Monday, I took her back to the Dr. Of course at the Doctor she looked fine because I gave her Ibuprofen before we left, and if she didn’t have a fever you would have never know she was sick. She acted normal. However, the Doctor told me that she should be fine, and shouldn’t have a high fever, just a low-grade and she should be able to return to school the next day. We leave the doctor office, only to come home to a 103.5 fever. I called the doctor back and asked them to please do something to help her, I was tired of masking her fever, when apparently something is wrong.
They admitted her into the hospital on Monday evening.

This is what happens when a fever comes on: Sleep

This is what happens when a fever comes on: Sleep

Now it is Friday. She got out of the hospital on Wednesday evening, she would still get a fever, but they wasn’t as close together. Thursday she finally went 24 hours without a fever! While at the hospital her WBC was 15 on Monday and when we left it was 11.6. Her liver enzymes are still elevated (they have come down since Monday), but we will go back on Thursday to get them rechecked.
I will probably never know what happened to her, but I am glad to be home, and say that she is FEVER FREE!

Her class made her a Valentine Get Well Soon Card and got her a Bear! So Thoughtful.

Her class made her a Valentine Get Well Soon Card and got her a Bear! So Thoughtful.

Being at the hospital while you are 8 months pregnant.. let’s just say that my hips thank me for being home!
They ruled it as Viral plus her having Pneumonia even though her chest X-ray came back negative, they still thought maybe her body was still fighting it off.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Glad she is on the mend – praying that it never happens again!

    Reply
    • Thank you Ememby! I hope we never have to go through that either. I am glad she is well now, and 100% back to herself.

  2. Glad she is feeling better, and you’re back home!

    Reply
  3. That first line sent a chill down my spine, but I love a happy ending!
    Take care of yourselves, my friends.

    Reply
    • I am glad she is better, thank you Hook. It was stressful, but we find out about her liver levels on Thursday when they do more blood work (which she is starting to understand) It is sad when your 5 year old says “Go Slowly! Don’t poke me, Can I watch” when she is getting blood work. :-/ Every time we turn around they want more: especially with her food allergies.

    • Hang in there, my friend. You’re not alone.

  4. When your child is hurting, you’re hurting with them. Glad she’s feeling better. Connie

    Reply
  5. I’m glad that she’s finally better now. What a worry!

    Reply
  1. Your Questions About Bikinis | bikinimadstore.com

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Warming Guests

    • 216,135 random views
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 363 other followers

  • Categories

  • Pages

  • #truestory #ac #hotcar #giggles #poshwithjenna #fridayfunny #georgia #napsarebad #sahm
  • bloglovin
  • Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Around The World

  • Follow We're Jumpin' on WordPress.com
  • Top Posts & Pages

